For the Love of Buffy… Buffy the Vampire Slayer

buffy.jpg

This is going to be extremely random but here goes.

Since the release of the Entertainment Weekly issue featuring the 20th anniversary of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, I drove to 5 different stores to locate any copy. I really wanted a copy of each cover but as long as I could find any cover, I’d be happy. After searching high and low, I found the Buffy and Angel cover at Barnes & Noble. When I located the magazine, I noticed a guy looking at all of the issues. Needless to say he was there for his girlfriend, who also searched high and love for a copy. We started to chat about our love of Buffy, Comics, Comic Con, Stan Lee and just overall geeking out.

Point? I never would have met this nerdy couple (Van & Heather- I say that as a major compliment) if it weren’t for this Buffy issue. I am sure I can speak for most Buffy fans out there when I say, talking about Buffy the Vampire Slayer you never know the friends you’ll meet and the topics you have in common.

BUFFY FOREVER!


 

Random Additional Topic:

Barnes & Noble. Why I don’t bother walking into that store.

In south Florida, libraries are nonexistent and if you are lucky enough to find one, most books are damaged and the library is falling apart. As an avid book reader my next option was Barnes & Noble or Borders (no longer in business). My best friend and I would always go to B&N, cover crush, buy new bookmarks and make some unnecessary purchases (i.e. book totes, notebooks etc.…). Once I moved to Virginia, the nearest store is about 30 minutes from my house and that is without traffic. So, it helped with my addiction. Plus, with Amazon Prime, books are much cheaper and get delivered directly to my house.

Nevertheless, there is always that special feeling when walking into a Barnes & Noble store and grabbing all the books, finding an isolated corner and diving into that book. After 3 years, I walked into B&N last night and I was reminded why I don’t go there because I end up spending A LOT more than I wanted. I only went for 1 issue of Entertainment Weekly ($5.99) and ended up spending $50! I purchased the magazine, a couple books and book tote. Like I needed another one. This is in no way bashing B&N, just simply stating I have a book problem and I try to avoid this store at all costs.

Leave a Reply

