Current Television Obsession: February 2017

I apologize for posting February’s C.T.O. so late. Every time I would try and write this, something always came up. But finally it’s here. Enjoy. 😘❤️


Legion.jpg

Legion

What a pleasant surprise! Marvel, regardless of studio (Disney or Fox) is dominating television, with their comic book related shows on major networks like ABC, F/X and Netflix. Everywhere you turn, a superhero show is staring at you in the face. I’ll start off by saying that I never read any “Legion” related comics and barely knew about the character. The only thing I knew was that he has multiple personalities and is a telepath. Oh, and Charles Xavier’s son. Spoiler Alert. After watching the pilot episode, I found myself to be really confused and kind of creeped out by the guy with yellow eyes. I am caught up now and I won’t lie, I am still a bit confused by David. I want to know is it really all in his head? Is he legit crazy pants? Was his dad abusive? Who is the creepy black and white storybook character? Who is the guy with yellow eyes? Is it all just David and his personalities? None of these questions have been answered so far but and because of that, and the way the show is filmed, it leaves me intrigued and I continue to watch. I want more than 50 minutes. Give me a 2 hour show. I have so many questions with little to no answers. Needless to say, I’m hooked.

Synopsis: David Haller (Dan Stevens) was diagnosed with schizophrenia at a young age and has been a patient in various psychiatric hospitals since. After Haller has an encounter with a fellow psychiatric patient, he is confronted with the possibility that there may be more to him than mental illness. (via Wikipedia)


SCD.jpg

Santa Clarita Diet

I haven’t really seen anyone talk about “Santa Clarita Diet” and I don’t know why. It was released on February 3, 2017 on Netflix and it stars Drew Barrymore and Timothy Olyphant switching roles as actors. What I mean by that is that I’ve never seen Drew playing a role of a zombie and Timothy as the timid husband. Usually it is reversed. Both actors are doing a great job at playing a character none of us have really seen. This season is 10 episodes long and leaves you on a cliffhanger. When the last episode finished, I was expecting another one to come on and sure enough, I was “Dick Wolf’ed”. (Law & Order creator who would end each episode without closure. I use it as a verb. It works.) This show kind of has an Evil Dead type of feel. They don’t take themselves too seriously. It’s very campy, jokes are a bit childish but still funny and the effects team is AMAZING. The goriness of the bodies and blood is very realistic. I am not that person that has to turn away from those types of scenes but at some points with this show, I had to. Since its release, I’ve seen the entire season twice. The first time alone and the second time with Brendan. I raved about the show and he ended up liking it as well. If you like films like Army of Darkness then give Santa Clarita Diet a chance. Its only 20 minutes an episode.

Synopsis: Married couple Sheila (Drew Barrymore) and Joel (Timothy Olyphant) are real estate agents in Santa Clarita, California. The couple’s lives take a dark turn after Sheila goes through a transformation – becoming a zombie who feeds on human flesh. (via Wikipedia)


Medici 

Medici: Masters of Florence

 I really really really wanted to like this show but I just couldn’t. I watched 4 episodes (I don’t give up easily) and the story is quite monotone. The actors are decent, not terrible, the setting is beautiful, the story is okay but the delivery is just kind of boring.  I guess I was spoiled with The Tudors because THAT show was amazing. Medici just didn’t do it for me. I debated finishing the miniseries, I only have 2 episodes left, but I just don’t feel like wasting my time. I didn’t care enough to invest more time.

Synopsis: The series is set in 15th century Florence. The protagonist, Cosimo (Richard Madden) is elected head of the Florentine Republic in 1434. Cosimo inherited the Bank of Medici from his father Giovanni (Dustin Hoffman), who has been mysteriously poisoned. Through various flashbacks (20 years prior), we see how the relationships between Giovanni, Cosimo and his very much involved brother, Lorenzo (Stuart Martin) are with each other and how it affects them and the people of Florence in the future.


Follow Up from January’s C.T.O

The Americans: I am completely caught up to where now I have to wait every week for an episode. Ugh. I just love a good t.v binge. I wouldn’t say the show is great because honestly, I don’t think it is. But something about it keeps me interested.

Z: The Beginning of Everything: I finished the entire season and it is a good show but I wished they had gone more into the story between F. Scott and Zelda and demise that is to come. The writers probably left that for season 2. If someone asked me if this show was worth trying, my response would be “Only if you liked F. Scott as a writer”.

 

Binge

Leave a Reply

