La La Land

images


 Synopsis: Sebastian (Ryan Gosling) and Mia (Emma Stone) are drawn together by their common desire to do what they love. But as success mounts they are faced with decisions that begin to fray the fragile fabric of their love affair, and the dreams they worked so hard to maintain in each other threaten to rip them apart. (via Wikipedia)


Some people may dismiss my review, especially since La La Land seems to be greatly loved already. What I enjoyed the most about this film is the cinematography.

The way La La Land is filmed is beautiful. I can appreciate director Damien Chazelle for taking a chance and creating a modern take on golden age Hollywood films. I liked the few songs that were sung and I do like Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone as actors but in all honesty, I do believe this movie is over hyped and overrated.

There is really nothing “new” about the story. Man and girl meet. Man and girl date. Man and girl have relationship issues. Man and girl support each other but part ways to better each other. Man and girl move on and years later, someone moved on and the other has not. End of story.

This story has been told before. Is it a bad story to tell? No. But it isn’t new. There were a few original songs and dance sequences but nothing extravagant. The dance sequences were almost like a flash mob. The dance number between Emma and Ryan were nice but nothing out of this world. The tap dancing was subpar. Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling were just playing themselves, like they do in every other film.

You may think that I hated this film based on what I wrote but I enjoyed it. I even teared up at the final fantasy scene. With that said, I just don’t feel that it deserves all of the awards and nominations that they have accumulated. For me, there are other films out there that tell a new story or one we haven’t seen before.

Oscar Contender #2

Modern Hollywood Golden Age

Leave a Reply

