Current Television Obsession: January 2017

TA season 1.jpg

After the holidays, I decided to start a couple of new tv shows, since all of my current shows were on holiday hiatus. One of the shows has been on for the last 4 years and it took me a while to finally cave in and give it a try. That show would be “The Americans”. My only hesitation to start the show was the similarity between Homeland. Granted, I based that solely on the commercials, but after watching a couple of seasons, I realized I was wrong. The show is about Elizabeth and Phillip, who are Russian spies and how the “temptations” of a great life in America can compromise their mission and the love for their mother land, Russia. I am loyal to Homeland but The Americans is pretty decent as well. Thank goodness for Amazon Prime. I was able to binge the first 2 seasons very quickly.

? -Question-

Does anyone notice the similarity in the intro song of both shows The Americans and Fringe?  It could be just me but they so sound similar. Let me know in the comments below if you are a Fringe fan, because I sure am.

Synopsis: “Set in the early 1980’s during the Cold War, The Americans is the story of Elizabeth (Kerri Russell) and Phillip Jennings (Matthew Rhys), two soviet KGB officers posing as an American married couple living in the northern Virginia suburbs of Washington D.C., with their children Paige, Henry and their neighbor Stan Beeman (Noah Emmerich), an FBI agent working in counterintelligence. (via Wikipedia)


the-crown

Next up, The Crown on Netflix. Netflix continues to amaze me with the quality of their original shows. The writing, the production value, the costumes and the acting are all movie quality. Add some extra brownie points to Netflix for tackling a real life story, too keep it as true as they can is even more amazing and worth the watch. Claire Foy’s transformation from Princess to The Queen is fascinating. *Claire Foy won a Golden Globe for Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series.* She dives into the role as Queen and it almost like watching a real life home movie of Queen Elizabeth II, from her mannerisms, her sternness and the naiveté that she had at the very beginning of her reign. I can’t wait for season 2.

Synopsis: The Crown traces the life of Queen Elizabeth II from her wedding in 1947 to present day. It is expected to span 60 episodes over six seasons. The first season depicting events up to 1955. (via Wikipedia)


z

Lastly, I watched the pilot episode of “Z: The Beginning of Everything”. The older I’ve gotten, the more I realize that not many people like F. Scott Fitzgerald as a writer. Either you love his work or you don’t. There is no in-between. But what intrigued me about this show is how it follows the woman behind the man; the muse, the inspiration and the “working” relationship between Zelda and F. Scott. The pilot was nothing to rave about. If I didn’t love the books by Mr. Fitzgerald then I probably would not bother to continue. My love for The Great Gatsby and the personal story of their lives is keeping me interested in the show, to see how Christina Ricci can capture Zelda and if the story improves. The show is slated to air on January 27th. Once I’ve seen more episode, I’ll be able to give an update if the show is worth it.

Synopsis: Based on the novel Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler. The series follows the life of Zelda Sayre Fitzgerald (Christina Ricci) as Zelda before she meets the unpublished writer F. Scott Fitzgerald and the moves through their love affair and their marriage. (via Wikipedia)


the man in the high castle.jpg

The Man in the High Castle season 2: This isn’t a new show for me. I’ve been a fan since the season 1 was released last year. Season 2 was released in December and I binged. What a shock. To my disappointment this season was slow. I still enjoy the “what if” and alternate universes but the story just dragged. I was quite disappointed in Joe Black’s character development. He seemed idle and quite monotone with emotion.


Are there any new shows that you’ve started and loved? Or hated? Let us know nerds!

-Stephanie

binge

Leave a Reply

