Reading Challenge 2017

RO-Photography.jpg

What a great way to start the New Year by having a reading challenge. From 2014-2016, I was terrible at picking up a book and getting lost in the world of literature. Before we moved to Virginia, I read at least one book a month and most were books in a series. After we moved, our lives have been so busy and so many wonderful opportunities have crossed our paths that I forgot what it was like to just get lost in a book. With that said, I created this reading challenge so I can hold myself accountable to my literary imagination. I thought, if I at least saw the books I wanted to read in writing and already had them in my possession, I had no reason to not pick up that book and just read. Like my bestie says “Read at least 20 pages a day”. Twenty pages doesn’t sound so bad right? Especially for this girl, who read 756 pages of Breaking Dawn in 1 day. Don’t judge me, I like Twilight, but NOT the films.

Some people may think reading is boring or for people that are bored, but I say differently. For me, reading creates an escape into a world of imagination; what we think the characters look like, how we think it’ll end, how we think it should end and the ever ongoing debate “Which was better, the book or movie?”. We can create so much in that brain of ours and we can always continue to learn. In the wonderful words of Mr. Walt Disney “There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates’ loot on Treasure Island”.

 I created this list to make it more fun and interesting. I don’t know if I’ll get to all 20 books, but I will surely try. My bestie/guest blogger, Stephanie, is also taking the challenge. Check her blog out at https://stephaniecardozo.wordpress.com/  and see which book she added to her list. After I’ve read each book, I will give my review and show you all the progress I’ve made on the list.

Imagine, dream, explore and just be happy.

Happy 2017 and happy reading.


If you are going to try the challenge, we would love to hear from you and your progress.

Please use #supnerdsRC2017

(we don’t tweet, only Facebook) 


A Book You Haven’t Read Since High School

The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

A Book Of Poetry

The Complete Tales and Poems – Edgar Allen Poe

A Book With One Word Title

Traffick – Ellen Hopkins

A Memoir

Freedom: My Book of Firsts – Jaycee Dugard

A Book You Can Finish In A Day

Politically Correct Bedtime Stories – Garner James Finn

A Book From The Year You Were Born

Beloved – Toni Morrison

A Science Fiction Novel

Starflight – Melissa Landers

A Popular Authors First Book

This Side of Paradise – F. Scott Fitzgerald

A Book Set During Christmas

What Light – Jay Asher

A Book A Friend Recommended

The Outlander Series – Diana Gabaldon

A Book Where The Protagonist Has Your Occupation

The Dispatcher – Ryan David Jahn

A Satirical or Funny Book

Horrorstor – Grady Hendrix

A Book Based on a True Story

Orphan Train – Christina Baker Kline

A Book Under 150 Pages

Weird Things To Say In A Bookstore – Jennifer Campbell and Greg McLeod

A  Book Based Entirely On The Cover

Born of Illusion – Teri Brown

A New York Times Bestseller

All The Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

The First Book You See In A Book Store

The Blonde – Anna Godbersen

A Book At The Bottom Of Your Reading List

A Little Princess – Frances Hodgson Burnett

A Self-Improvement Book

The Lambs Supper – Scott Hahn

A Previously or Currently Banned Book

A Separate Peace – John Knowles

#supnerdRC2017

Read

and read some more

One thought on “Reading Challenge 2017

Leave a Reply

