Gone Girl Review / From Book to Film

gg.jpg

Let me start off by acknowledging that I am late with this review. I am aware that the movie was released in 2014 and the book back in 2012, but I promised myself that I would never make the same mistake that I made with Atonement. I watched the movie before reading the book / the movie was still pretty great.

The book version was great. The suspense was killing me. More than a few times, I had to refrain from skipping pages to see what was going to happen, but I managed to contain myself. More than half of the book is being told by Amy and what she wants you to believe but then after almost 175 pages in, we learn the truth. Amy is sociopath. As the reader, you have no sympathy for Amy or Nick. Amy is vindictive and creates alternate realities to satisfy her own selfish needs. Anyone who goes against that is considered the enemy.  As for Nick, you want to feel bad for him but he still commits to ultimate fuck you when any couple is married. Once we learn the truth from both sides, the story unfolds in a surprising way. At the end of it all, Amy got her way whether you liked it or not. The story was captivating, almost felt like a few books in one with the twists and turns.

Now on to the movie version. I just watched it last night and I was disappointed. I am unsure if I would have felt the same way if I had not read the book, but I’ll never know. As most you know, the movie version 99.9% of the time will never be as good as the book and this was the case. Some characters did not exist in the movie and some minor incidents were left out, which is understandable, but what really stood out is Amy’s character. Film version of Amy came across as a scorned wife looking to get revenge on her cheating husband. The film doesn’t really dive into how psychotic she is. For the most part the film only highlighted the book, leaving major details out and didn’t really tell the actual whole story. For me, the book to film version is comparable to The Time Travelers Wife; watching the film, you feel like you’re missing something, then you read the book and you get all the answers to your questions.

In the end, I am glad I read the book first. The book was better.

*I did watch Dark Places (film based on the book, by the same author Gillian Flynn. I never read the book but THAT was a good movie! *

Leave a Reply

