X-Men Apocalypse

PHlmg99wvvFSor_1_l (1)

I know our review is late, but better late than never.

X-Men Apocalypse was decent, but not my favorite and I hate to say that since X-Men was my favorite part of the Marvel universe as a kid.

***Spoilers Ahead***

Some of my favorite scenes included Erik Lensherr aka Magneto’s story , finally seeing some of  Ororo Munroe aka Storm’s  origin  (at least she’s from the middle east and not Halle Berry’s different accent versions from the first 3 X-Men movies),  and Wolverine’s weapon X . Which, lets discuss that. Where in the hell has THIS Wolverine been hiding? About damn time we see him like this. Hopefully, this is the Wolverine well see in his “last film”. I added quotation marks over last film because who knows if Hugh Jackman will actually step away for good. Last but not least, we can’t forget Quicksilver’s scene.

Off topic: Fox handled Quicksilver much better than Disney, so thanks Fox!

Aside from that, the rest was just average and all too familiar. The new set of casting from Sophie Turner aka Sansa, Tye Sheridan, and Olivia Munn were just alright with the exception of Alexandra Shipp, who did a decent job playing a young Storm. Jennifer Lawrence needs to exit the franchise and I would happily accept a recasting of Mystique. Mystique is such great character and with the lack of enthusiasm from Ms. Lawrence and her outspokenness of being done with the franchise, it clearly showed in this film. Mystique added NOTHING to this movie.

Anyone who knows me, knows that my favorite Marvel character is Jean Grey aka Phoenix. The casting of Jean Grey could have been better. Ms. Turner wasn’t terrible but she did not add anything new to the role of Jean. We all know Jean is the most powerful of them all and I don’t think Sophie Turner can translate the almost bi-polar personality that is required to play Jean Grey. And for me, she will always be Sansa Stark.

Off Topic: Poor Jubilee. She was stuck in a classroom from the first 3 X-Men films and now, they let her go to the mall and that was it. Back to the attic for her.

Now for the main event and the title of the movie. Apocalypse was a sub-par villain played by a great actor, Oscar Isaac. Some scenes were visually cool, but overall the last 30-40 mins of the film fell flat. Apocalypse could have done some real damage and decided not to.  I also could have done without the gimmicky “X” logo in front of the building that the X-men were hiding in.

It makes me sad to point out the scenes or characters I didn’t like in the film because X-Men was the first comic I read as a kid. I grew up with the awesome 1990’s character (you know the one, with the “stuck in your head all day” intro song) and I enjoyed all of the previous X-Men films (including Wolverine Origins, except for that films version of Deadpool of course).

I will buy this movie, and I didn’t hate it. I’d probably give it 7 out of 10. I guess I was just expecting a better film than I got. Fox has spoiled us, the audience, with the awesomeness that was First Class and Days of Future Past. With this third installment, it was my least favorite of the “new” three X-Men films.

One thought on “X-Men Apocalypse

  1. Michael says:

    I think ” Days of Future Past’ was the strongest of the three but this one really tapped into the fans of the late 80s-90s Xmen comics.
    And yeah….the treatment ( albeit brief) of Wolverine was hands down my favorite part of the film ! If his last stand-alone doesn’t get an R rating then they’re not doing Logan proper justice.
    Storm’s back story wasn’t quite canon but it was close enough for me.
    The “movie studio folks” just need to understand the source material is strong enough to stand on its own. They don’t need to change things to fill seats or sell toys.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

